sippy cup

I am a klutz. I can drop a plate standing perfectly stone-ass still. I can also drool without any food or drink inhabiting my mouth so my handling issues should come as no surprise to many.

“This one time in drink camp,” I tried to forewarn my friend of my relationship gone wrong with glassware.  She didn’t listen to me and continued to make me use a crystal wine glass. MADE ME, I tell you!  All evening, I lovingly caressed the crystal glass and sighed a breath of relief in my pursuit of keeping the goblet free from harm.  When the evening ended, I exclaimed with pride “Look, I didn’t break your glass! I’ve accomplished something that only Olympians in my sport have!” with all the pride of an agile student.  I think I relished in my feat too soon. During the final moment of completing the final landing, the glass snapped at the stem and shattered.

As usual because I am always apologizing for something I said or did, my mortified self apologized profusely from my accident.  “OH, MY! I’ll replace it! Was it Mikasa? or a hopefully a knock off cheapy?”

“Ummm…. no. It was a Waterford glass from my wedding.” LIKE A FREAKING TOP TIER WATERFORD!

Now I’m screaming not her, “WHYWOULDYOUGIVEMEAWATERFORDWINEGLASSWHENI’VEWARNEDYOUOFMYACCIDENTALBREAKAGEATEVERYTURN?”

I think she responded, “I didn’t think you would actually break it.” Because, you know, most adults do not have these kinds of issues when socializing.

Of course she was the best and said she wasn’t mad at me or at least to my face she didn’t.  She has since tried to give me other glass wine glasses (paired down to dollar wine glasses I hope) and yet, I vehemently refuse while asking for pure plastic.  BPAfree of course.  Basically any material hard to destroy with my man hands.

I have now been deduced to “sippy cups” and even then, I can barely keep these puppies in an upright position.

Case in point from this past weekend.

sippy cup

Posing for a photo in which I have been caught in the act of trying to keep my “sippy cup” from falling and spilling onto everyone. I showed Ninja-like moves in saving everyone from a potential disaster. from a sippy cup.

I am proud to say, no glassware was broken (that I know of) during my visit.

13 thoughts on “sippy cup

  1. OMG, that photo is the VERY BEST!

    I am the SAME way, although usually fine with wine glasses. But the other day, I dropped my dinner plate not once, but twice. The second time was as I took the three steps into my tiny kitchen and I did some sort of acrobatic thing and the plate went flying and spinning, pizza everywhere and then the damn thing shattered on the floor.

    I WAS JUST WALKING.

  2. I’m pretty klutzy too. I have stemless wine glasses which have kept me from knocking them over (I always ace that one!). And I also hate spilling booze. Maybe even more than breaking things.

  3. Aaaaahhh! You never give the Waterford to the person who says they aren’t trustworthy with glass! That’s just crazy! Or if you do, you pick up the shards and say “Oh well, it was my own damn fault for not believing you.”

    I’m sorry, though. Wine from plastic is…unappealing. That’s why we have some throwaway glasses taken from the vineyards we visited. (It’s OK – they’re not stolen. They were either giveaways or we just didn’t get our deposit back)

  4. During our courtship, my hubby broke two (yes-two!) of my mother’s cherished Waterford wine glasses. Two consecutive Thanksgiving dinners he managed to knock over his wine glass, breaking both crystal wine glasses. Third year, my mom finally got smart…plastic cup for hubby. It has been 20+ years and he has not lived it down…he has since graduated back to Waterford glasses, but the story gets retold each year.

  5. I’m a total klutz, too. G gave me sippy cups for my wine when we were first dating. I’m better than I used to be, but we have some stemless cups that have such a small bottom, I still manage to knock them over like a weeble wobble! (HEY! Like the new blog. I’ve been wanting to move to WP but am afraid.)

  6. I am the same way with wine glasses. Every second I have them I am sure they will snap in half or I will knock them over. I once knocked an entire glass of red wine on a coworker. I had only had like one sip so the clumsiness cannot be blamed on me being tipsy. She already hated me so I guess if it was someone it may as well of been her. She just hated me *more* then.

  7. I, too, am grace-challenged, by the day. hour. minute. second! I often get asked why I wear *such* high heels. I figure I fall when I’m walking in bare feet, so I might as well wear whatever I want.

    Love those wine sippy cups! It’d make a perfect gift for my wino bestie! They’re sold out at Vino2Go, but I found ’em available on http://store.theproductfarm.com/ .

Leave a Reply

